5/ Mike Hailwood (Four world titles in 1962-1965)

Mike Hailwood, known as Mike the Bike, worked in his family’s motor dealership before taking part in the race for Honda and MV Augusta. He won four consecutive world championships in 1962-1965 and also 14 TT races. Unfortunately, he was killed in a car crash in 1981, along with his nine-year-old daughter.

6/ John Surtees (Four world titles in 1956, 1958-1960)

He was spoken highly of by his rivals for being the only racer to win the world championships in motor and car racing. He raced for Norton and MV Augusta before racing for F1 teams, including Ferrari and Lotus, with a victory in 1964. He passed away in 2017.

7/ Eddie Lawson (Four world titles in 1984, 1986, 1988-1989)

Eddie Lawson achieved three titles for the Agostini Yamaha team during the six years in a tournament dominated by tobacco company sponsorship. He gained his last title in 1989 after a switch to Honda. He retired from his racing career with Italian manufacturer Cagiva in the early 1990s.

8/ Kenny Roberts (Three world titles in 1978-1980)

Kenny Roberts defeated his great rival Barry Sheene, to win the British Grand Prix at Silverstone in 1979 before the following two world titles. His son named Kenny Roberts Jnr, achieved the world title in 2000.

9/ Casey Stoner (Two world titles in 2007 and 2011)

As a great rival to Rossi, Casey Stoner gained what his long-time competitor could not do by winning the MotoGP title with Ducati in 2007. Overcoming health problems, he returned to Honda race in 2011 and earned the Australian second world crown.

10/ Jorge Lorenzo (Three world titles in 2010, 2012, 2015)

Jorge Lorenzo had three premier class world titles in 2010, 2012, and 2015. However, the disastrous period with Ducati in 2017-2018 blurred his achievements. He has returned to the Yamaha race this year as a test rider after his retirement.