Formula One (F1) has released its 2020 calendar to 17 races, with the cancellation of the Chinese Grand Prix due to the COVID-19 pandemic but the comeback of the Turkish race for the first time since 2011.

Accordingly, Turkey would hold a race in the Istanbul Park circuit on November 15 before a Bahrain double will take place in late November and early December.  Meanwhile, Abu Dhabi will end the season on December 13 at Yas Marina.

Turkey will be the only non-European or Middle Eastern round on this year’s calendar as the circuit is on the Asian side of Istanbul.

Vural Ak, chairman of Turkish circuit organizer Intercity, said that the firm felt great happiness and honor to bring the biggest motor sporting event in the world to Turkey once again.

Under the new calendar, a limited number of fans could attend some of the 17 races. Of which, Russian Grand Prix organizers have already sold tickets for their race in September. The race is expected to take place in Sochi.

Earlier, all six grands prix held so far since the delay have been organized behind closed doors without any audience.

As the original schedule published before the COVID-19 pandemic, the F1 would have had a record of 22 races.

However, the competition in Monaco had been canceled and a new calendar was created with a mix of old venues and old favorites. 

Chinese race in Shanghai had faced doubts for some time due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Formula One said that it is sad that the race would not be organized in China this season. It hoped that the race will return China next year.

The first Vietnamese Grand Prix, which was postponed from April, will not happen although the official cancellation has yet to be confirmed.

Besides, Japan, Azerbaijan, Singapore, and Australia have been canceled, mainly due to the negative impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.